BOARD TALK
The fastest growing tennis discussion forum on the planet.


Post Reply 
Question Regarding Linesmen
Author Message
I. Haychew Offline
Masters Titleist
*****

Posts: 694
Likes Given: 134
Likes Received: 374 in 209 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
Question Regarding Linesmen
Just wondering...

Is there some rule that prevents linesmen from intentionally touching a tennis ball? I've watched quite a few tennis matches over the years, and not ONCE have I seen a linesman extend a hand to keep from getting pelted by a ball. Instead, they always seem to try to "duck" the ball. What's up with that? Anybody know? I'd like to see what would happen if a player would toss a sweaty towel on a linesman's head. Would the linesman stay like a statue and wait for a ball kid to remove it? Just curious.
28-May-2013 09:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
1972Murat Offline
Multiple Slam Winner
********

Posts: 8,513
Likes Given: 2,152
Likes Received: 3,161 in 1,854 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
I think it depends on the tournament. I have seen linesmen actually catch the ball and give it to the ball boys in some tournaments but for the life of me I cannot remember which tournaments. It does happen though...

(This post was last modified: 28-May-2013 09:28 PM by 1972Murat.)
28-May-2013 09:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
tented Offline
Potential GOAT
*********

Posts: 11,618
Likes Given: 4,705
Likes Received: 3,392 in 2,108 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
I read the sections of the official ATP rulebook concerning line judges and ball persons (their phrase), and it doesn't mention anything specific -- it doesn't say a line judge can or cannot touch the tennis balls, nor does it say the ball persons can exclusively handle them.

There are multiple rules concerning the number of line judges you have access to, and where they should be accordingly, so I'm assuming that if you have a full complement of ball persons and line judges there's no need for them to do each other's jobs. At smaller tournaments, however, with fewer line judges, I could see where they would need to perform double-duty, and catch balls, etc.
28-May-2013 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Broken_Shoelace Offline
Multiple Slam Winner
********

Posts: 6,174
Likes Given: 915
Likes Received: 2,590 in 1,545 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
lol, I've often wondered about that actually. It's always hilarious to see them try to avoid an incoming ball (usually after a serve down the T) while maintaining their stance.
29-May-2013 05:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
lindseywagners Offline
Pro
***

Posts: 130
Likes Given: 6
Likes Received: 15 in 10 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
They are surprisingly good at ducking out of the way. I don't know if I've ever seen one get hit with a ball. Though I have seen them trip over those advertising boxes.
29-May-2013 12:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
1972Murat Offline
Multiple Slam Winner
********

Posts: 8,513
Likes Given: 2,152
Likes Received: 3,161 in 1,854 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
(29-May-2013 12:17 PM)lindseywagners Wrote:  They are surprisingly good at ducking out of the way. I don't know if I've ever seen one get hit with a ball. Though I have seen them trip over those advertising boxes.


One got nailed today right on the kidney from a Milos serve...Looked painful...Sad

29-May-2013 12:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
tented Offline
Potential GOAT
*********

Posts: 11,618
Likes Given: 4,705
Likes Received: 3,392 in 2,108 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
(29-May-2013 12:17 PM)lindseywagners Wrote:  They are surprisingly good at ducking out of the way. I don't know if I've ever seen one get hit with a ball. Though I have seen them trip over those advertising boxes.

See? Nalbandian was providing a public service when he kicked in that box at Queen's Club.
29-May-2013 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Didi Offline
Seasoned Pro
****

Posts: 421
Likes Given: 246
Likes Received: 194 in 107 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
(29-May-2013 06:58 PM)tented Wrote:  See? Nalbandian was providing a public service when he kicked in that box at Queen's Club.

Lay Down Laughing
30-May-2013 04:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
JesuslookslikeBorg Offline
Grand Slam Champion
*******

Posts: 4,657
Likes Given: 337
Likes Received: 966 in 695 posts
Joined: Apr 2013
RE: Question Regarding Linesmen
stefan Edberg killed a linesman at the u.s open once.

he didn't do twenty to ten in the pen though.

knowing me alan partridge, knowing you tennis frontier..ah ha.
31-May-2013 07:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)